Having problems downloading data?

Support forum for our fast, user-friendly offline Chinese language study apps for Google Android devices:

Hanping Chinese Dictionary (Lite & Pro)
Hanping Chinese Camera

Having problems downloading data?

Postby hanping » 05 Jan 2012, 10:12

Note - This is only applicable to Hanping Chinese Dictionary Pro. The Lite version does not have any remote files that need to be downloaded.

This topic concerns problems with downloading dictionary and audio data from within Hanping Pro. If you are having problems downloading the app itself then this is a Google Play Store issue.

If you are having problems downloading (maybe because of a connectivity issue on your Android device) the audio or dictionary data then please download the corresponding file (see below) and place it in the Download folder (a top-level folder on your SD card or your main storage). DO NOT UNZIP

In most cases, the Download folder will already exist so there will be no need to create it. If you cannot see the Download folder then it could be you are looking in the wrong place. Please contact us if you are still unsure.

Note: If at all possible, please make sure you are using the latest version of Hanping Pro with these files. If you are using a version of Hanping Pro earlier than 3.2.9, then you should place the zip file at the top-level of the SD card/storage instead.

The next time Hanping attempts to install the audio/dictionary, everything should work from this local file instead of our remote servers. Once completed, you can remove the zip file from your SD card, but it is probably best to leave it there in case you need to perform a re-installation later.

Downloads (they are encrypted so will be useless if you do not have the relevant licenses):

Audio files [mirror] (7.7MB)
ABC Chinese-English Dictionary [mirror] (18.6MB)
ABC English-Chinese Dictionary [mirror] (6.6MB)
hanping
Site Admin
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby ttdahq » 09 Mar 2012, 06:12

I downloaded and copied to the memory card is still not open audio,
when Fetch audio have error
hanping chinese dictionary
Error: Not a real zip file
ttdahq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 06:07

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby hanping » 09 Mar 2012, 06:20

Hi - that's strange. Try copying it back to your PC and opening it using something like WinZip or WinRAR to verify that it is OK (and has not been corrupted since copying to your SD card).
hanping
Site Admin
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby ttdahq » 09 Mar 2012, 06:58

i extract with winzip and winrar ok. I copy dra_zh_audio_robin_base_003.zip to root SD and open Hanping Chinese Pro... but when click audio -> Fetch Audi (6MB) -> ok -> downloading audio 0%-> Hanping chinese pro error: Not a real zip file
ttdahq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Mar 2012, 06:07

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby hanping » 11 Mar 2012, 06:44

Hmm - that's very strange. Please can you download CatLog from the Market and send me the logs?
hanping
Site Admin
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby tashk » 26 Jun 2012, 18:17

Good evening!

Recently purchased ABC English _ Chinese dictionary, but couldn't install it. I could find no notification. When I press menu it shows this dictionary as purchased. I tried the suggested way indicated here. No any change. Now I can use only preinstalled dictionary. Please help, how to activate ABC English _ Chinese dictionary?

Thanks.
tashk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 26 Jun 2012, 18:04

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby hanping » 26 Jun 2012, 18:43

Hi and thanks for your message.

Please can you confirm that the Menu > Buy screen says that the ABC English-Chinese dictionary has been "purchased"? If it has not been installed then it will say "purchased but NOT installed". You can also go to Menu > About screen where only the installed dictionaries are shown.

To confirm whether the dictionary is accessible please search for the word "squiggle". If it is installed then you will see some results.
hanping
Site Admin
 
Posts: 338
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby pfffill » 27 Sep 2012, 09:18

I bought Hanping Pro from the Amazon UK appstore today. It is showing as purchased on the website and I have the Hanping Pro icon on my phone. When I try to launch it though, the screen defaults to "Complete action using" and lists three options - Appstore, Browser or Dolphin Browser (my two browsers). Whichever option I take, I am directed to the "buy" screen again at Amazon. I have a feeling this is due to the phone, an Xperia Arc S running Android 4.0.4, having been bought in China; in other words the Chinese firmware is blocking the completion of the installation, or at least the launch of the app. I also have Hanping Lite and that installed and launches fine. Any suggestions how I can resolve this? Many thanks in advance.
pfffill
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Sep 2012, 09:08

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby pfffill » 27 Sep 2012, 10:04

Re: the above - I should correct myself and say that, when I try to launch Pro, it directs me as above to Amazonappstore, where I press the "open" button and the loop starts again.
pfffill
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Sep 2012, 09:08

Re: Having problems downloading data?

Postby coloraday » 27 Sep 2012, 10:55

pfffill wrote:I bought Hanping Pro from the Amazon UK appstore today. It is showing as purchased on the website and I have the Hanping Pro icon on my phone. When I try to launch it though, the screen defaults to "Complete action using" and lists three options - Appstore, Browser or Dolphin Browser (my two browsers). Whichever option I take, I am directed to the "buy" screen again at Amazon. I have a feeling this is due to the phone, an Xperia Arc S running Android 4.0.4, having been bought in China; in other words the Chinese firmware is blocking the completion of the installation, or at least the launch of the app. I also have Hanping Lite and that installed and launches fine. Any suggestions how I can resolve this? Many thanks in advance.

pfffill wrote:Re: the above - I should correct myself and say that, when I try to launch Pro, it directs me as above to Amazonappstore, where I press the "open" button and the loop starts again.


That's exactly what happens to me too. I think embermitre is currently looking into the problem.
coloraday
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 23 Sep 2012, 19:36

Next

Return to Hanping Chinese

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest