Hanping Chinese Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.* Bug Report Thread

Support forum for our fast, user-friendly offline Chinese language study apps for Google Android devices:

Hanping Chinese Dictionary (Lite & Pro)
Hanping Cantonese Dictionary
Hanping Chinese Camera
Hanping Chinese Popup
daymo
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Aug 2010, 06:30

Re: Hanping Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by daymo »

Sorry I should correct myself, that should be 'loading' not 'downloading'. In fact mine actually says 載入中 because it's running the OS language in Chinese. As it appears small at the bottom of the screen and generally appears quickly I misread it, I had 下載 stuck in my brain ;) .
This happens as soon as you click on hanping to open it. The screen will go black and just at the very bottom it displays the above before continuing to load hanping.

The logs you're referring to do you mean the packet capture file I created to look at the network traffic? This is a pcap file which can be read by any standard network monitoring software such as wireshark.

daymo
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Aug 2010, 06:30

Re: Hanping Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by daymo »

I wanted to run more tests to make sure there was consistency in what I was seeing and I've narrowed this down to markmonitor.com which is an online brand protection company. They have a registered IP subnet range of 173.194.0.0/16. Each time I detected a particular IP from that range I blocked it on my firewall, Hanping on my phone would then just site there for about a 1 minute or 2 then finally load. It seems to grab one of the IPs above, stick to it then if it fails to get a response it tries another. After blocking this entire subnet it does the same thing again, pauses (displays 'loading' for about 1 minute), then eventually hanping loads. Once it's dealt with this I can then load hanping almost immediately. If I then kill all processes in Memory it starts all over again.
Now I don't know if it's actually Hanping itself the cause of the problem or part of a google process when loading apps but it's certainly affecting hanping and I don't notice the same thing with anything else.
p.s. these latest tests were carried out using hanping 3.0.9.

daymo
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Aug 2010, 06:30

Re: Hanping Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by daymo »

Hi, just wanted to say thanks. I've downloaded 3.0.10 and so far it's performing really well.
Many thanks.

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

Oh, for some reason I wasn't getting email notifications of your posts on this topic - so sorry for the late reply.

Thanks so much (again)!

Hmmm, I'm pretty sure the problem was mainly because I had some computationally heavy task running in a lowest priority thread - and on some devices (even fast ones) this takes a ridiculously long time. On my GN it was not an issue, but another user running CM on a GS2 reported similar problems.

The 3.0.10 update fixes this (just by bumping up the thread priority to normal) - as well as an important fix to in-app billing purchase information retrieval.

I think this update is super-stable. It fixes a lot of rare bugs found in 3.0.4. Not updating the app for a few months meant that it was easy to identify very rare bugs and fix them without breaking anything else.

Having a super-stable version means that it's a great platform from which to build in the next major changes :)

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

rraffensperger wrote:Yes, it is fixed. Thanks. When can you tell us about the new app?
The new app has finally been released!

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... reader.pro

daymo
Posts: 29
Joined: 07 Aug 2010, 06:30

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by daymo »

Spotted a little bug with the clipboard.
If I copy something to the clipboard, the character will reappear when I reload hanping later .
E. G.
Open hanping
search for something
view the word or phrase
Press the clipboard icon
Close hanping
Open hanping again and the search field is blank as expected
Close hanping
Open hanping again and what ever is held in the clipboard appears in the search field
This results in an automatic search of that clipboard entry

It seems to only occur if I copy any Chinese characters to the clipboard

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

Thanks very much. This will be fixed in the next version.

clay
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Sep 2012, 23:33

clipped audio

Post by clay »

I have a Samsung S2 Galaxy from Sprint running Android 4.0.4. When I click the speaker in the Pro app to hear what a word sounds like, the output is clipped -- the end of the word is usually missing. Something very similar happens when I use the iTranslate app, but with a notable difference: only the last word of a sequence is clipped. I suppose the iTranslate app combines the words before playback, whereas Hanping Dictionary plays each word back separately. Maybe that provides a clue to the problem, which doesn't seem to be in your code, but rather in the way my phone handles it. One other detail:When I use the Learn Chinese with Li Pro app, no words are clipped. Any idea what I can do about this?

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

Thanks very much for your feedback on the audio. Indeed, there are a couple of devices where this problem occurs but we have not been able to find a workaround yet. I plan to rewrite the audio code soon in an attempt to improve things. I will send you an email when we are ready with something.

clay
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Sep 2012, 23:33

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by clay »

Thanks! Aside from this issue, your app is great. Incidentally, when I use the iTranslate app, my workaround is to add " thank you " to the end of every query....

Locked