Hanping Chinese Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.* Bug Report Thread

Support forum for our fast, user-friendly offline Chinese language study apps for Google Android devices:

Hanping Chinese Dictionary (Lite & Pro)
Hanping Cantonese Dictionary
Hanping Chinese Camera
Hanping Chinese Popup
Riwal
Posts: 2
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 12:24

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by Riwal »

Thanks a lot!

The problem never really bothered me until I started using Hanping a lot more this month. Apart from that, I'm really happy with it!

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

The latest version (3.2.6) is now much much faster than before for ABC Chinese-English Dictionary pinyin searches. So, if you have that dictionary installed, it's well worth updating.

We'll be releasing more speed improvements in the next update - specifically English searches on both the CC-CEDICT dictionary and ABC English-Chinese Dictionary.

kevinthom
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Dec 2012, 22:08

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by kevinthom »

On my phone (Motorola Atrix), the listing for the word "luo2" meaning "Smart/clever" has no Chinese character associated with it. The space where a character would be shown is blank. The same search on my Nexus 7 returns the correct character. This is the only character I've found that is missing, but it's an important one because it's part of my friend's Chinese name! Is there a way to fix this? I'm using the latest version (3.2.10 Pro).

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

Please read this and let me know if it helps: http://embermitre.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=62

kevinthom
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Dec 2012, 22:08

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by kevinthom »

embermitre wrote:Please read this and let me know if it helps: http://embermitre.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=62
Yes, installing a font from my Windows machine fixed the problem. Thanks!

Cek
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Nov 2011, 08:36

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by Cek »

Hi I have a trouble with hanping pro 3.2.10 on my xiaomi 2. Probably it's because of the default language of my device, but the pinyin fonts have some troubles with the 3rd tone, the a, e, i and o with 3rd tone results different from standard font, and they are also far from the word, there is more space between letters. In addiction, the english characters are not so clearly black, but a sort of light grey.
I hope you can help me to fix this little issue, thank you
Attachments
Screenshot from my Xiaomi 2's hanping dict issues
Screenshot from my Xiaomi 2's hanping dict issues
Screenshot_2012-12-17-17-35-14.png (173.29 KiB) Viewed 7755 times

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

Unfortunately this is a limitation of your device. The only way I know to fix it is to root your device and change the system font. I'm not sure exactly how to do this but you should be able to find something here: http://forum.xda-developers.com

Cek
Posts: 4
Joined: 22 Nov 2011, 08:36

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by Cek »

Thank you, already solved. As you said, just needed to change the system font.

hanping
Site Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 18 Mar 2010, 08:52

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hanping »

Great, thanks for reporting back.

hiten
Posts: 11
Joined: 02 Aug 2012, 03:36

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Post by hiten »

Hi, I'm using Hanping Pro 3.2.10 on my Nexus S.

Sometimes the apps suddenly exit while I'm using the brush stroke mode. There's no warning or error, the apps just suddenly blackout and return me to android home screen.

It happens while I'm in the middle of writing the character using the brush stroke mode. It doesn't always happen, maybe about 1 in 5 chances. But previous version didn't have this problem.

Can you help me to troubleshoot this?

Thanks.

Locked