Page 5 of 9

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 06 Oct 2012, 23:54
by pfmiller
There is a different app menu bug now since the one where it wouldn't show in the app menu was fixed. Now instead of zero it frequently shows two entries. One is always blank white, I think the cause is when I open Hanping I actually can see two screens opening sometimes. A blank white generic screen, then immediately after that the real Hanping screen shows. It's weird, but much less annoying then not having the app in the app switcher at all.

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 07 Oct 2012, 00:22
by hanping
Is it possible to create a reproducible scenario so I can test it here?

Which version are you using?

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 08 Oct 2012, 00:18
by pfmiller
Using version 3.2.3 currently. It seems to only happen when opening the app from the widget. I just tried launching the app from from the app icon and it didn't happen.

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 08 Oct 2012, 00:55
by hanping
When you say "opening the app from the widget" do you mean by pressing the top-left icon in the widget, or the word? Which Android OS are you using?

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 09 Oct 2012, 02:49
by pfmiller
I mean opening from the icon on the widget. I am on 4.1.1 on the Galaxy Nexus. Here is a screenshot of what happens.

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 09 Oct 2012, 03:04
by hanping
Oh, I'm seeing that too now - thanks very much, I'll look into it.

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 09 Oct 2012, 03:07
by hanping
Right, fixed - you'll see it in the next update (hopefully a few days' time) :)

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 09 Oct 2012, 05:06
by pfmiller
Brilliant, thanks!

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 15 Oct 2012, 12:28
by Riwal
Hi,

I have been using Hanping Dictionary Pro for about a year now, and am mostly very happy with it, but I've been having an annoying problem with it in the last few months. Whenever I write the first letter of a word that I am searching for, the app displays the results for the first letter of the word and then doesn't react for several seconds, even when I continue typing. This gets really annoying when I have several words to look up.

For example, if I were to search for the Chinese word for "smart", the moment I type "s" I get results for "St Paul" (圣保罗), then "S-shaped" (蛇形), etc. Even though I continue typing and the text box does indeed display the entire word "smart", it takes a few seconds for the app to react and to display the actual results. This freeze only occurs when the first letter of a word is typed, and its length depends on the letter that was typed ("s" being the worst").

My phone is not a fast phone, and I am sure that I would not have the same problem with a faster phone. I do, however, seem to recall that I did not have this problem until an update a few months ago, but I may be wrong.

Thanks for your help!

Re: Hanping Dictionary Pro/Lite 3.0 Bug Report Thread

Posted: 15 Oct 2012, 13:00
by hanping
Hi and thanks very much for your detailed feedback.

There was a major change to the search algorithm about 9 months ago which is probably to blame for that. It introduced a lot more complexity behind the scenes.

It's only really a problem on older devices, but we really want to fix it anyway. We're planning to do some major optimizations very soon which should make things much faster.

Please stay tuned!